At Rondebosch Boys’ High School, we see it as our societal imperative to deliver good men. To get there we speak to core shared values and offer opportunities for intellectual, physical and ethical development. We strive to provide a nurturing environment where pupils can develop to their fullest potential. With pride and passion, we maintain outstanding academic standards whilst embracing cultural, sporting and social endeavours to prepare learners for adult life.

For the thirteenth year, our young men achieved a 100% pass rate. Given the context of the year it is especially commendable that this cohort achieved a 95.8% university entrance rate. 167 candidates achieved a record 497 A symbols and 19 students achieved a full house of 7 A symbols.  Special mention should go to Steffan Brundyn who achieved above 90% in all of his eight subjects and to Veren Naidoo who came second in Mathematics nationally and achieved 100% for this subject. Veren also achieved 8 A symbols.

While these excellent results are the culmination of years of focus and hard work on the part of both the boys and their teachers, they are also indicative of the determination and goal orientation of a group that were often expected to work in isolation. We must therefore also recognise the supportive parent community who have had to encourage, support and mentor more consciously than ever before.

We are very proud of the class of 2020 and all who have supported them in their quest for excellence.


RBHS Top 10

1 Steffan Brundyn
2 Veren  Naidoo
3 Azhar Randeree
3 Benjamin Wittenberg
5 Angus Duncan
6 David Frost
7 Jaden Stauch
8 Luke Van Der Walt
9 James Rose
10 Samuel Schlesinger

The following boys received 3 or more distinctions:

8 Distinctions: Steffan Brundyn, David Frost, Veren Naidoo, Azhar Randeree, James Rose, Sa

muel Schlesinger, Alex Smith

7 Distinctions: Nihaad Abrahams, Samuel Bovim, Angus Duncan, Guy Ellis-Brown, Daniel Maree, Nico Martin, Luke Nogueira, Jaden Stauch, Max Stead, Luke Van der Walt, Dante Webber, Benjamin Wittenberg

6 Distinctions: Stuart Adam, Luqmaan Barday, Luke Beneke, Kyle Bronn, Jihoon Choi, Willia

m Day, Levi De Lijster, Keenan Delmulle, Geoffrey Goatley, Daniel Gordon, Tate Haarhoff, Peter Hart, Jared Heynes, Thomas Hofmeyr, Wonhee Lee, William McDonald, Matthew Meyer, James Prowse, Rhys Ravat, James Ritchie, Thando Tshapela, Albert Van der Westhijzen, Robin Veitch, Bailey Wood

5 Distinctions: James Baalbergen, Moegamat Damon, Michele Devoti, Ryan Lake

4 Distinctions: Oliver Delport, Amaan Haffejee, Alex Hillman, Cameron Jansen van Rensburg, Amjad Khan, Jaden McEwan, Sang-Yeon Park, Thomas Probert, Jordan Thomson, Liam Walker, Callum Whitson

3 Distinctions: Connor Brice, Cameron Brooks, Griffin Fraser, Aneeq Gamieldien, Yaseen Khan, Liam Krog, Matthew Lubbe, Ross MacDonald, Neill Marais, Muhammad Minty, Jonathan Sands, Brody Seymour, Muhammad Soomra, Jonathan Swanepoel, Rahul Valaitham, Fletcher Vincent, Michael White.

Shaun Simpson – Headmaster, Rondebosch Boys’ High School.

Based on the 2020 matric exams, the WCED has ranked Rondebosch Boys’ High School as the top state boys’ school in the Province, as well as 5th place overall in the Western Cape as detailed below.

  1. Westerford High School
  2. Herschel Girls School
  3. Diocesan College
  4. Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof
  5. Rondebosch Boys’ High School
  6. Rustenburg Girls’ High School
  7. Herzlia High School
  8. Star College Bridgetown
  9. Claremont High School
  10. Rhenish Girls’ High School
  11. Paul Roos Gimnasium
  12. South African College High School
  13. Paarl Girls’ High School
  14. Springfield Convent of the Holy Rosary
  15. Wynberg Girls’ High School
  16. Hoër Meisieskool La Rochelle
  17. Parklands College
  18. Hoërskool D.F. Malan
  19. Parel Vallei High School
  20. Hoërskool Stellenberg

Steffan Brundyn, who attained an aggregate of 96.2%, is among the Top 40 candidates in the Province (actual position not announced).  Steffan and Veren Naidoo are in the Top 10 in the Province in 4 subjects, and David Frost (2020 Head Prefect) and Luke van der Walt in 2 subjects each.

In the Top 10 in the Province in these subjects are:

Accounting: Jaden Stauch (joint 4th), Veren Naidoo (joint 7th)

Economics: Kyle Bronn (joint 8th)

English Home Language: Steffan Brundyn (joint 8th)

Geography: David Frost (joint 7th)

Information Technology: Veren Naidoo (5th)

Mathematics: Veren Naidoo (joint 1st with 100% & 2nd in South Africa), Luke van der Walt (joint 3rd), Dante Webber (joint 8th), Steffan Brundyn (joint 9th)

Music: David Frost (joint 5th)

Physical Sciences: Veren Naidoo (joint 4th), Steffan Brundyn (joint 6th), Albert van der Westhuijzen (joint 9th), Nico Martin (joint 10th)

Visual Arts: Angus Duncan (joint 4th), Luke van der Walt  (joint 6th), Steffan Brundyn (joint 7th)