Hostel Life

There are two boarding houses on campus: Mason House for Grades 8-9 and Canigou for Grades 10-12. These buildings are situated amongst the leafy surroundings of our grounds, providing easy access to all of the school facilities. All of the boarders eat together in the Tinkie Heyns Dining Hall and there are numerous events throughout the year to promote camaraderie and hostel spirit. The recreation rooms offer many activities including foosball, pool, table tennis and television as well as an on-site gym. Boarders may go home at weekends depending on extracurricular commitments.

Hostel living creates independence as the routine and structure support the boys in becoming self-disciplined and responsible. Boarders benefit from the convenience of being on campus and, as a result, get involved with multiple aspects of school life. They enjoy having another ‘family’ and find that boarding ‘makes school more fun’.

Our hostel residents develop great social skills as they learn to adapt to living with different personalities. They create strong relationships with their peers and have a better understanding of each other’s culture.

Contact Details

Superintendent – Gustaf Pienaar
Email: Gustaf.Pienaar@rondebosch.com
tel: 021 685 1709

Canigou – Rudi Claassen
Email: Rudrich.Claassen@rondebosch.com

Mason House – Trevor Edwards
Email: Trevor.Edwards@rondebosch.com

Hostel Manager – Kathy Duncan
Email: Kathy.Duncan@rondebosch.com
tel: 021 689 6311

Hostel office – Kathy Duncan
Fax: 021 686 3749 / tel: 021 686 3749

Catering Manager – Annie Lemmon
Email: Annie.Lemmon@rondebosch.com
tel: 021 686 1348

Canigou staff

Rudi Claassen
Email: Rudrich.Claassen@rondebosch.com

Johan Snijmann
Email: Johan.Snijmann@rondebosch.com

Darius Geldenhuys
Email: Darius.Geldenhuys@rondebosch.com

Antonie Nel
Email: Antonie.Nel@rondebosch.com

Wesley Guma
Email: Wesley.Guma@rondebosch.com

Mason House staff

Trevor Edwards
Email: Trevor.Edwards@rondebosch.com

Kevin Jenkins
Email: Kevin.Jenkins@rondebosch.com

Rob Dalrymple
Email: Rob.Dalrymple@rondebosch.com

Kofi Appiah
Email: Kofi.Appiah@rondebosch.com

Brenden Taylor
Email: Brenden.Taylor@rondebosch.com

Hostel History

The land upon which Canigou and much of the High School is based was first used as a farm by a free burgher in 1791. In 1837, Colonel John Bell purchased the property and named it “Canigou” after Mont Canigou in the Pyrenees in Southern France where he served in the British Army in a war against the French. Colonel Bell had also been Aide de Camp as the personal assistant to the Duke of Wellington who later defeated Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo.